

INTERNAL QUALITY ASSURANCE CELL COMMITTEE MEETING

Minutes of the Meeting

Monday, 20.09.2021, 4:00 PM

Chairman

Dr. Sunil Rai, Vice-Chancellor

Director IQAC

Mr. S. Raghavan

Members Present

- 1. Dr. Sunil Rai- Vice Chancellor
- 2. Dr Veena Dutta Registrar
- 3. Dr. Ram Sharma- Dean Academics
- 4. Dr. Gita Heggde, Dean- School Of Business
- 5. Dr. Manisha Mohan, Dean- School Of Design
- 6. Dr. Vijay Kumar Singh, Dean- School Of Law
- 7. Dr. Gurvinder Singh Virk, Dean- School Of Engineering
- 8. Dr. Neeraj Mahindroo, Dean- School Of Health Sciences
- 9. Mr. Nalin Mehta, Dean-School of Modern Media
- 10. Mr. Manish Madaan, Deputy Director- Career Services

In Attendance (By Invitation)

Dr. Sharmila Katre - Director Academic Audit, GGS

Apologies

Welcome and Context Setting.

Prof. Sunil Rai, Vice-Chancellor, welcomed the IQAC Committee members and introduced Mr. S. Raghavan, who recently joined UPES as Director IQAC. He further continued by highlighting the importance of IQAC and the quality initiatives UPES should focus on. He also informed the committee members that UPES IQAC team in UPES will undergo a restructure and a new IQAC systems, processes and practices will be introduced. He requested Mr. S. Raghavan to present the IQAC restructured plan to the committee members.

Points of Discussion

- Mr. S. Raghavan thanked Vice Chancellor for the warm welcome and he presented the IQAC restructure plan which has IQAC vision, objectives, Functions, responsibilities, Approach, outcome, team and operational processes. Details are mentioned in the Annexure 1 below.
- 2. Mr. S. Raghavan proposed revised IQAC composition as follows. The committee will meet quarterly once to discuss and review the IQAC plan.

COMPOSITION	MEMBERS		
Chairperson	Prof. Sunil Rai, Vice Chancellor		
Dean of Respective Schools	Dr. Ram Sharma – Dean- Academics Dr. D.K Awasthi, Dean- Research & Development Dr. Gurvinder Virk, Dean –SoE Dr. Sunil Rai, Dean – SoCS Dr. Githa S. Heggde, Dean – SoB Ms. Manisha Mohan, Dean – SoD Dr. Neeraj Mahindroo, Dean – SoHS		
Teachers to represent all levels	Mr Ajit Bhandari, Associate Professor - School of Design Dr. Shikha Dimri, Professor -School of Law Dr.Raj Kumar Tiwari, Associate Professor & Dr.Divya Rawat, Assistant Professor - School of Health Science Dr. Alok Agarwal, Professor- School of Computer Science Dr. PLL Annapurna, Assistant Professor- School of Life Dr. Ramna Walia, Associate Professor- School of Modern Media Dr.Sumeet Gupta, Associate Professor- School of Business		
Senior Administrative Officers	Dr. Veena Dutta, Registrar Dr. Praveen Kumar, Associate Librarian		

	Dr. M Sakthi Ganesh, Controller of
	Examinations
	Mr. Rahul Nainwal - Director of Incubation
	Dr. Sheetal Khanka, Deputy Director-
	International Affairs
	Mr. Lokendra Dutt Sharma, Associate
	Director- Administration Department
	Mr. Ravi s. Kumar, Deputy Director-HR
	Mr. Manish Madaan, Deputy Director- Career
	Services
Director IQAC	Mr. S. Raghavan

- 3. Prof. Sunil Rai chair IQAC, requested Mr. S. Raghavan to identify 1 alumnus and 1 corporate professional to be part of the IQAC Composition before next committee meeting.
- 4. Mr. S. Raghavan also proposed a plan to have an IQAC advisory committee that includes senior Academicians and Corporate professionals who have experience in Accreditations in higher education.
- 5. Prof. Sunil Rai, Vice- Chancellor emphasized on the Examination Reforms and reviewing the existing examination processes and manual and he formed an examination reform group with following members:
 - a) Dr. Ram Sharma Dean Academics
 - b) Dr Veena Dutta Registrar
 - c) Dr. Nalin Mehta- Dean, School of Modern Media
 - d) Dr. Sakthi Ganesh Murugesan- Controller of Examination
 - e) Dr Sharmila Katre Director Academic Audit
 - f) Mr. S. Raghavan- Director, IQAC
 - g) Dr. Neelu Jyoti Ahuja- Professor, School of Computer Science
 - h) Mr. Ajit Bhandari- Associate Professor, School of Design

He requested Dr. Sakthi Ganesh Murugesan- Controller of Examination to led this group, facilitate the discussion and present the findings in the next meetings.

6. Dr. Vijay Kumar, Dean of School of Law, shared a comment that the IQAC advisory committee should have representations across India that has diversity. Mr. S. Raghavan responded that diversity will be ensured. The committee members approved the revised composition and congratulated Mr. S. Raghavan for presenting the plan. The Vice-Chancellor thanked the committee members and emphasized on the importance of implementing the action plan.

Next Steps

ACTIVITY	TIMELINE	RESPONSIBILITY	REMARKS
Structure, Staff & Budget Approval	Nov Q4 2021	Mr. S. Raghavan, Director IQAC	
Implementing Approved Budget	Q4 2021	IQAC, Finance & Strategy	
Finalize IQAC Strategic & Operational team	Q4 2021	Mr. S. Raghavan, Director IQAC, Deans & Heads of Non Academic	
Accreditation Management System	Q4 2021	IQAC & IT Team	
IJP & External Hiring	Q4 2021	HR & Mr. S. Raghavan, Director IQAC	
Advisory Committee Invitation	Q4 2021	Mr. S. Raghavan, Director IQAC	
Process Audit for Academic & Administrative Functions	Q4 2021 & Q1 2022	Mr. S. Raghavan, Director IQAC & IQAC Team	
Annual Ranking Calendar	Q4 2021	IQAC	
Examination Reform Committee Meeting to be conducted and present the findings.	Q4 2021	Dr. Sakthi Ganesh Murugesan- Controller of Examination	

Annexure

1. IQAC Restructure Presentation

<u>Signed</u>

S.Raghavan Prof Sunil Rai

Director IQAC Vice Chancellor & Chair IQAC